Radar Detector Laws Of the 50 States & Some Countries

Many states and jurisdictions differ in regards to how they legal see the ability for an everyday citizen to use a radar detector in their car. RD’s (Radar Detectors) are generally legal in vehicles thanks to  the Communications Act of 1934. The enact enables a citizen to purchase and own a radar detector. It also prohibits police officers to destroy your RD or allow them to find probable cause just because you have a radar detector.

Radar Detector Laws

98% of the 50 states in the U.S make it legal to purchase and use radar detectors (i.e. only one “Virginia” does not). 5 states (California, Minnesota, Illinois, New York, and New Jersey) do have restrictions laid out in their state laws however. The District of Columbia also outlaws them, but it’s not technically a State. Washington D.C.

Radar Detector Laws in California & Minnesota:

These states prohibit a detector from being on the inside of a windshield of a vehicle. Mostly because they have fully outlawed allowing anything (that is right anything) to be attached to the windshield of a car and will give a stiff ticket if you violate such a condition if they are not in the mood.

Radar Detector Laws in Illinois, New York, New Jersey:

YES! It is legal to possess and use a radar detector in all three. However, they are only allowed to be used in passenger vehicles and commercial vehicles are outlawed from using them. (In fact many states are stating to add additional regulations that prohibit commercial vehicles from using RD’s, please check your specific state law). Rest assured that passenger vehicles are not affected.

radar detector laws

Radar Detector Laws in Australia:

  • Only in W. Australia

Radar Detectors are illegal in the following Countries:

  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Egypt
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Lithuania
  • Malaysia
  • Netherlands
  • North Korea
  • Norway
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • UAE

Radar Detectors are legal in:

  • Iceland
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Israel
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • UK

Radar Detectors in Canada:

  • Only legal in British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan.
, ,