Kansas Bar Reciprocity

Horizontal Navigation Bar w/Rollover Effect

Kansas bar reciprocity relies upon Rule 708 of the Kansas Court Rules. This regulation, known as Admission on Motion, indicates how attorneys that are licensed in other states can be licensed in the state of Kansas. To be admitted to practice in Kansas attorneys in other states must:

  • Have admitted via bar exam in another jurisdiction allowing similar admission standards to that of Kansas (such as through the UBE)
  • Or have engaged in active legal practice in any of the states or territories of the United States for a minimum of 5 years our of 7 years.

Kansas Bar Reciprocity: Admission on Motion

Attorneys must be admitted in another jurisdiction, known as the admission on motion process, before they can be considered a licensed Kansas attorney. Kansas Bar Reciprocity admission is based upon the receipt of a complete bar application.

Reciprocal Jurisdictions

Kansas has a list in which it has reciprocity with certain states. Currently attorneys licensed in all states except the following have reciprocity with Kansas:

  • California
  • Delaware
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Additional Kansas Reciprocity Requirements

  • Law Degree from a ABA law school
  • Good standing in all other jurisdictions where admitted before bar exam
  • No failure of the bar exam within 5 years of a previous application for admission
  • Passage of the MPRE
  • Kansas online legal course
  • Active practice of law in at least one star for 5 of 7 years (active license and at least 1,000 hours per year in law practice and made at least 50% of their income not from an investment from the practice.)
    • In-house counsels (can not be used for duration requirement)
    • Legal Professors
    • Judicial Law Clerks
    • Judges
    • JAG Attorneys



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.